South Africa’s premiere Music Awards, the MK Awards 2011, are now just around the corner.

The glittering event, which pays tribute to the “best of the best” in the South African Music Industry, is set to bring down the house on 26 February at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC).

Nominations for the awards include artists such as Crash Car Burn, Die Antword, Jack Parow, The Parlotones, Van Coke Kartel, Zebra & Giraffe, Locnville, Die Heuwels Fantasties and Jax Panik… to mention just a few.

From an iKind Media perspective, we are honoured this year to have our first inclusion in the awards in the form of a nomination, in posssibly the most competitive category of “Beste Nuweling” or “Best Newcomer”, for The Pixie Bennett Band’s 80’s inspired music video, Edge Of The Line.

Other nominations in the Best Newcomer category include Die Tuindwergies (Kopskudkinders), Wrestlerish (Oliver Tambourine), Alleen na Desember (3hoekige 4kant) and Dance, You’re On Fire (Blockade).

We’re holding thumbs for Pixie and the band.

You can watch the Edge Of The Line music video in our video gallery (click here) and as an added bonus you can watch the “Behind The Scenes Making The Music Video” above, presented by Durban comedians Dusty Richardson and Gareth Woods.

Remember to head over to the MK website to vote for The Pixie Bennett Band (click here); voting closes 31 January 2011.

MK AWARDS 2011 : Best Newcomer Nominations


Die Tuindwergies Kopskudkinders

Wrestlerish Oliver Tambourine

Alleen na Desember 3hoekige 4kant

Dance, You’re On Fire Blockade

The Pixie Bennett Band Edge Of The Line

Voting open from 2 December 2010 to 31 January 2011